Youth Exchange



Youth Exchange offers the opportunity for groups of young people from different European countries to meet and learn about each other’s cultures. For all groups the exchange will be a life experience where they will have intercultural exchange with other participants whilst treated equally and with mutual respect.

The youngsters learn to develop new skills and competences. They experience the life in a country with an unfamiliar or unknown culture and language. Not only will they expand knowledge about their own culture but also they will meet youngsters with different social and cultural background. This will lead to new experiences and sharing mutual interests. Main instrument that is used on our youth exchange is the use of multimedia tools and the production of a short film.

An international youth exchange covers 6 to 21 days. The exchange involves a minimum of 16 and a maximum of 60 participants, group leaders not included. A youth exchange is set up by two or more youth organizations based in one of the program countries in the European Union or partner countries. All participants are aged between 13 and 30 years and legally resident in a Program Country.

Participating program countries:

  • Member States of the European Union : Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom.
  • Non EU Program Countries: Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey

Partner Countries:

  • Western Balkan: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia
  • Eastern Partnership countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine
  • South-Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
  • Russian Federation